Friday, 24 November 2017

SWEET WILLIAM BLOG TOUR | 'Sweet William' by Iain Maitland (****)

Hey guys, and happy Friday! Today I am so excited to be on the final stop of the Sweet William blog tour, to celebrate the publication of this horrifying, electrifying, terrifying read! Sweet William is a rollercoaster read of a crime novel, where a young father escapes from a psychiatric hospital to be reunited with his young son. It is a story of danger, delirium and devastation. It is a novel that will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire way through. 

And if you don't believe me, check out the blurb here...

Life and death played out over 48 hours. A father intent on being with his young son escapes from a secure psychiatric hospital, knowing he has just one chance for the two of them to start a new life together. Sweet William is a breathtakingly dark thriller that spans forty-eight hours in the life of a desperate father and a three-year-old child in peril. Brilliant and terrifying, this is a debut novel that will stay with its readers long after they finish turning the pages.

Sweet William is an absolutely electrifying read that gripped me from start to finish. Right from the beginning I was tantalised by Maitland's writing and the too-close-for-comfort narrative perspective that made me feel like I was complicit in Rick's crimes. The narrative perspective was definitely one of my favourite parts of the book. It kept me on tenterhooks throughout the entire novel and I was always hesitant to turn the page in case something dreadful happened...

The characters were all carefully crafted to fit the novel and I loved how the narrative switched from first person to third person, so we could get a bit of an insight not only into Rick's mind, but the other family members, to make the situation seem a lot more urgent to the reader.

Overall I loved everything about this book. The plot was so well thought out and the suspense that Maitland created is remarkable. I didn't know what to expect from this book (I haven't read anything like it before) but I really enjoyed it and I definitely need something light and fluffy to read now!

Make sure you guys check out the rest of the spots on the blog tour <3


Until next time :)



Monday, 20 November 2017

DAY IN THE LIFE OF AN AUTHOR | Chantelle Atkins

Hey guys, and happy Monday! Today I am very excited to be bringing you another Day In The Life of an Author post - and I'm so glad that you are all enjoying these posts - I'm hoping to continue on with these as long as there are wonderful authors willing to write the posts! 

Today the author I am featuring is the lovely Chantelle Atkins, who was born and raised in Dorset, England and still resides there now with her husband, four children and multiple pets. She is addicted to both reading and music, and is on a mission to become as self-sufficient as possible. She writes for both the young adult and adult genres. Her fiction is described as gritty, edgy and compelling. Her debut Young Adult novel The Mess Of Me deals with eating disorders, self-harm, fractured families and first love. Her second novel, The Boy With The Thorn In His Side follows the musical journey of a young boy attempting to escape his brutal home life. She is also the author of This Is Nowhere, This Is The Day and the collection of short stories related to her novels, Bird People and Other Stories. Her latest release is the YA dystopian novel The Tree Of Rebels.

Check out Chantelle's day here...

The day starts at 6am when the alarm goes off. It’s my eldest daughters 15th birthday today, so I wake her up at 6.30 so she can open some presents before getting ready for school. We leave at 7.45 to get there on time. While everyone is whizzing around getting ready for the new day, I dash outside to see to the animals. We have dogs, and out in the garden we also have a giant rabbit, guinea pigs, ducks and chickens. Once they are seen to, I pile all four kids into the car and do the school run! 

My youngest child, age 3, started pre-school last week and is the last one to be dropped off. I’m still getting used to the fact he doesn’t bat an eye-lid at me leaving him! It feels very weird to go home without him, but there is lots to keep me busy. I zip back home to walk my dogs. I will then grab the chance for a coffee before I go down the lane to walk two more. As well as a writer, I am also a dog walker/pet-sitter. I only went back to this fairly recently as it was too tricky to combine with my son when he was really little. Now that he is at pre-school fifteen hours a week, I hope to pick up some more work. I have decided I need to get fit again, so today I jogged down the lane, walked the two dog dogs and then jogged back! My husband picked my son up from pre-school at 11.50 which left me a bit of time to get on with baking my daughter’s birthday cake.

I always find the weekdays just fly by. After school is just as busy and noisy as the morning, with dinner to be made and homework to be done. I find myself thinking about my writing all day though. I will tap things into my phone and scribble things onto paper throughout the day, and by the time the evening comes, I am just bursting with it and cannot wait to get going. Since my son came along 3 years ago, I only have time to write in the evening, and I write without fail six evenings a week. I take Saturday off to recharge my creative batteries and watch TV with the kids. I’ll be thinking about my writing the whole time though!

I also run a writing business called Chasing Driftwood Writing Group. I run adult writing groups once a fortnight in the evenings in a local hall, and children’s writing workshops in the school holidays. Writing group is normally on a Monday, but not tonight, which means I can actually sit down and get on with my own work. I am currently in the process of turning Chasing Driftwood into a Community Interest Company, so that I can better access and secure funding for local writing based community projects. I am really excited about this, but it is hard to find the time to put it all into action. Now that the youngest is at pre-school, I am going to dedicate a few hours each Wednesday to getting this done.
As for my own writing, I released my latest novel in August, a YA dystopian called The Tree Of Rebels. I am now working on a novel aimed at adults called Elliot Pie’s Guide To Human Nature. I was writing these two novels together over a two-year period, going back and forth between them, working on one when the other was with beta readers and so on. I am hoping I am on the second to last draft now of this current novel, and then I will try submitting it to publishers. I have published my other novels through Pronoun, but would love a traditional deal with a small press that suits the kind of thing I do. If that doesn’t happen, I will happily place this next book with Pronoun and prepare another launch! I do love everything that comes with being an indie author. It’s such a learning curve, full of challenges, with so many opportunities to be creative. I just need more time in my life for it all! 


After Elliot Pie, I have another YA novel almost ready, and after that, I hope to finish the sequel to The Tree of Rebels, and then start work on a four book YA series. Lots to keep me busy! 

Thank you so much, Chantelle, for appearing on my blog and sharing your day with us!

This is the last Day In The Life of an Author post I have scheduled for now, so if you would like to be part of this series please do pop me an email! 

Check out Chantelle Atkins here: https://chantelleatkins.com

Until next time :) 

Saturday, 18 November 2017

5* BOOK REVIEW | 'Things a Bright Girl Can Do' by Sally Nicholls

Hey guys, and happy Saturday! Today I am very excited to share with you a review of one of the best and most important books I have read this year. I haven't read a historical novel in a really long time, however this one gripped my imagination and taught me so much. 

Of course, I am talking about Things a Bright Girl Can Do by Sally Nicholls! 

I read this book absolutely months ago but I have only had the chance to publish this review... I know, I'm tutting at myself too... 

I was kindly sent Things a Bright Girl Can Do by the lovely people at Andersen Press in exchange for an honest review :)

Things a Bright Girl Can Do is a book about politics, class, feminism and the fierce determination of those who refused to be sidelined from society. The story follows three girls from three completely different backgrounds, and different dreams for their futures, yet with one main goal: to stop their voices from being silenced any longer. However, when Britain enters into War with Germany, their entire world is turned on its head, and the future of the Suffragette movement appears uncertain.

Intrigued? Check out the blurb here...


Through rallies and marches, in polite drawing rooms and freezing prison cells and the poverty-stricken slums of the East End, three courageous young women join the fight for the vote.

Evelyn is seventeen, and though she is rich and clever, she may never be allowed to follow her older brother to university. Enraged that she is expected to marry her childhood sweetheart rather than be educated, she joins the Suffragettes, and vows to pay the ultimate price for women's freedom.

May is fifteen, and already sworn to the cause, though she and her fellow Suffragists refuse violence. When she meets Nell, a girl who's grown up in hardship, she sees a kindred spirit. Together and in love, the two girls start to dream of a world where all kinds of women have their place.


But the fight for freedom will challenge Evelyn, May and Nell more than they ever could believe. As war looms, just how much are they willing to sacrifice?

I LOVED THIS BOOK. LOVE LOVE LOVE. Everything you could possibly want as a feminist is in this book: a wonderful in-depth, heartfelt exploration of what life was like for women of all classes in the early 20th century, how the First World War impacted on this fight for equal rights, and also how men's lives were impacted by the tremendous pressure to drop their lives and their families and go and fight. 

This book made social history totally palatable and so interesting to read about. I knew bits and bobs about the Suffragettes and the First World War, but Nicholls takes us right into the heart of the action and immerses us completely in the lives of these three extraordinary women.

I loved the characters in this book. Evelyn, Nell and May were so relatable, loveable and admirable. When we're taught about the Suffragettes in school they are usually presented to us as a faceless group of women who spent their time shouting at policemen and getting arrested. However, Nicholls shows us the everyday plight of the Suffragette. Being told to go home and look after their children, getting pummelled with rotten food, having to pay taxes without even getting a say in society, and having to suddenly adjust to life when the male breadwinner gets called up to fight. I love how a huge variety of women were presented, and one of the things I loved the most about this book was...

GAY SUFFRAGETTES! 

Yep, you heard me correctly.

Nicholls' book seems to campaign for equality for everyone, and shows that the Suffragette movement was more diverse than we can ever imagine. Things a Bright Girl Can Do is such a hopeful book, and shows us how far we have come as a society, yet reminds the reader that there is still an enormou

sly long way to go. Education for girls in lots of countries is still non-existent. Gay marriage is still disallowed (and punished) all around the world. Women are paid less for the same jobs that men have. And men are still taught to put on a brave face, 'be a man' and not talk about the things that bother them. 

Things a Bright Girl Can Do shows us that change is possible and achievable. 

Buy Things a Bright Girl Can Do here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/1783445254

Check out Sally Nicholls here: http://sallynicholls.com

Until next time :)




Thursday, 9 November 2017

DELIGHTFUL KIDS BOOKS | LITTLE MOUSE'S CHRISTMAS BLOG TOUR | 5* Book Review

Hey guys, and happy Thursday! Today I am so excited to be back with my children's book feature, to celebrate the publication of a wonderful new book Little Mouses's Christmas by Riikka Jäntti. 

The Little Mouse series by Finnish author and illustrator Riikka Jäntti has been delighting children and parents alike with its lovingly drawn illustrations and gentle storytelling, and the third instalment, Little Mouse’s Christmas, is bound to get kids excited about the festive season. Here, Little Mouse can’t wait for Christmas to come as he helps Mummy Mouse get everything ready for a traditional Finnish Yule.

Little Mouses's Christmas is a beautiful book that brilliantly presents the wonder and excitement of Christmas for children, with gorgeous illustrations and wonderful details that will get children excited for Christmas. 

Intrigued? Check out the blurb here...


Little Mouse has a long time to wait for Christmas! Luckily he has lots of things to do to get ready!

It’s almost Christmas and Little Mouse is looking forward to celebrating with Mummy Mouse and Grandpa and Grandma Mouse. But Christmas Eve feels very far away and Little Mouse is very impatient!

Fortunately there are all kinds of things for Little Mouse to do, like cooking gingerbread and choosing just the right Christmas tree.

The curious and lively toddler Little Mouse is back in this beautifully Scandinavian Christmas story by Finnish author/illustrator Riikka Jäntti.

This is undoubtedly my favourite Little Mouse book so far. Jäntti captures perfectly what makes children excited for Christmas, and I loved all the details like the darkness in the mornings and afternoons, advent calendars, gingerbread, and falling asleep to cartoons on the sofa.

The illustrations are of course perfect in every way, and add so much to the story. Everything looks so warm and cosy <3

The impatience of Little Mouse for Christmas day to come is pretty much every young child, and the jobs that Mummy Mouse gives Little Mouse is perfect inspiration for parents coping with overexcited children during the holidays!

Little Mouse's Christmas is the perfect bedtime story for kids of all ages during the run-up to Christmas, and it's sure to get even the adults excited too!





Make sure you guys check out the other spots on the tour :) 

Until next time <3 




Monday, 6 November 2017

DAY IN THE LIFE OF AN AUTHOR | Rebecca Stonehill

Hey guys, and another happy Monday to you! Today I am delighted to be posting another Day In The Life of an Author post - I know this is all I am posting at the moment, but what with essay deadlines, work and planning for my dissertation, blogging has somewhat taken a back seat. However, I'm still really happy to be publishing these posts, since I love them! 

Today I am featuring the wonderful writer Rebecca Stonehill, author of The Poet's Wife and The Girl and the Sunbird. Rebecca is also teacher of creative writing to children.

Check out her day here:

I live in Nairobi and here, school starts quite early for my three children, at 8am. So when I get up, I do a quick bit of yoga to help ease me into the day (I wish I were one of these people who jumps energetically out of bed, but I’m not!) and then there’s the normal whirlwind of breakfast, snack and bag sorting and getting my three kids to two different schools.

I like to be at my desk with a cup of coffee, writing by 9am (I say desk but, actually, it’s a camping table covered by a colourful throw) and I work through till lunchtime. On some days I’ll take a short break to go for a run or a brisk walk around the neighbourhood which I find really helps to clear my head and I often have ideas that I know wouldn’t come to me if I’d just been sitting at the laptop. It’s amazing how many revelations I’ve had whilst on the move!

I’m not an author who’s good at pounding out thousands of words of a manuscript per day. For me, I’ve learnt that a minimum of 1000 words for the day works well; much beyond that and I find the words start becoming a little wooden and forced. So the time that I don’t spend working on the story, I do other writing-related activities, such as blogging, professional editing work or preparing for my creative writing after school club or storytime for kids. I am passionate about children’s literacy and love spending as much time as I can involving myself with activities that encourage young people to read and write.

Once the children are collected from school (and hoping that I don’t get stuck in the crazy Nairobi traffic!), there are a few after school activities, then we go home where I cook the evening meal. I go through real phases with cooking – sometimes I don’t feel like I have the energy to put my heart and soul into it, and at other times I want to spend hours on end in the kitchen, dreaming up a huge array of feasts! My children complain that my cooking is way too healthy, but I think it must be a hangover from the kind of food my own mother used to prepare for me, and now I feel like nutritious, whole foods are the only way to go!

After dinner, I always read a chapter or two to my children of the latest book we are reading together. I love this time as it always throws up so many questions and we have read and discovered so many wonderful stories together. At the moment we are reading Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell, a fantastic blend of magical storytelling and seamless prose.


I always leave a period of screen-free time before bed, because too much time at the laptop late at night leaves my head a jumble of conversations and opinions, not conducive to a good night’s sleep. This is a time for de-compressing, sorting photos (yes, I still print off photo’s and have dozens of photo albums), playing some music and reading. I am a voracious reader – it makes no difference whether or not I am working on my own stories, there is never a time when I don’t have a novel on the go. I love all kind of fiction; anything at all really with a compelling story and believable characters.

Thank you so much, Rebecca, for appearing on my blog!

Check Rebecca out here: www.rebeccastonehill.com
Twitter: @bexstonehill

Facebook: Rebecca Stonehill Books

If you would like to sign up to Rebecca's mailing list, you can do so here: http://rebeccastonehill.com/signup

Until next time :)





Monday, 30 October 2017

DAY IN THE LIFE OF AN AUTHOR | Katharine and Elizabeth Corr

Hey guys, and happy Monday! Welcome back to my Day In The Life of an Author feature - I'm so pleased with how popular it is so far, and can't thank the wonderful authors so far for writing fantastic pieces and detailing their daily lives for us :)

On the blog today we have the brilliant author/sister duo Katharine and Elizabeth Corr, author of fantastic YA books including The Witch's Kiss, The Witch's Tears, and The Witch's Blood, which is due to come out in March next year.

And here is Katharine talking about her day-to-day life as an author!

My day usually starts at 7; my daughters don’t need me to take them to school anymore, but they wouldn’t make the bus on time without a certain amount of “encouragement” (e.g., being reminded about the time at five minute intervals), so in theory I can start writing as soon as they’ve left, at 8am. 

In theory. 

In practice, the first thing I do is have a strong coffee and check my Twitter and Instagram feeds. I also usually put a load of washing in the machine (I swear it’s coming through a black hole from somewhere, there’s so much of it!) and tidy up the kitchen. I know – the glamour, right?

Anyway, once I’m finally ready to start work, the exact shape of the day depends on where we are in the writing / editing process. I write with my sister; early on, we don’t need to be writing at the same time or in the same place. We always start with a detailed outline; although this outline changes as we go along, it does mean that we can get on with stuff independently. When we’re on the first draft stage – or working on structural edits – a typical day might involve writing part of a new chapter and reading over something Liz has written or reviewing some changes she’s suggested.

It’s different when we’re further along. Last week, for example, we were finishing line edits on our third novel, The Witch’s Blood. With line edits, a lot of changes depend on exactly how a paragraph, or a line, or even an individual word, sounds, when read as part of the whole. So, last Monday – after the coffee, washing, housework, etc., on my part, and after the school run on her part –  Liz came to my house in the morning. We sat at my desk with our latest draft open on the screen and read aloud as much of the manuscript as we could get through. (Of course, working in the same room as your sibling always comes with risks. Occasionally we argue about plot or killing off a character. More frequently we start messing around, reading bits of dialogue in strange accents, mashing up our narrative with scenes from Star Wars or LOTR until it all gets too much and we collapse into hysterical laughter. Just as well our editor can’t see us…) 

After Liz left I got on with other tasks. Some were writing related: I sent some emails about school visits, talked to a librarian about a potential YA festival, and spent a bit more time on one of our proto-novels. Some, sadly, were not: I went to the supermarket, booked a plumber and spent a fair amount of time standing with the kitchen door open waiting for the cat to decide whether she wanted to go out. 


Very unreasonably, my family always seem to want some attention (and feeding!) when they get back home from school / work, so it’s difficult to get much done after 5pm or so (unless I can plead a solid, I’m-going-to-be-working-all-night editing crisis).  Still, with my laptop and my various (badly organised) notebooks, I do sometimes manage to fit in a little bit more writing just before bed. Left to my own devices I’d stay up late working every night, and get up later in the morning. But as it is, I have that 7a.m. start looming…


Thank you so much, Kate and Liz, for appearing on my blog! Make sure you guys check back next Monday for another Day In The Life of an Author feature <3

Check out The Witch's Kiss here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Witchs-Kiss-Trilogy-Book/dp/0008182981/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1508882204&sr=8-1&keywords=the+witch%27s+kiss

Check out Kate and Liz Corr here: http://www.corrsisters.com

Until next time :)




Monday, 23 October 2017

DAY IN THE LIFE OF AN AUTHOR | Marion Eaton

Hey guys, and welcome to another very happy Monday! I am excited to yet again be sharing another Day In The Life of an Author feature - this time with Marion Eaton, (writing as M.L. Eaton), the author of various mystery/thrillers with a touch of the supernatural (the Mysterious Marsh Series) and fictional memoirs based on the childhood experiences of her brother and herself (the Faraway Lands Series). A book of meditations, one on Reiki, a James Herriot style memoir of her early days as a solicitor, and a spooky mystery make up her other writings to date. Qualified as a Solicitor way back in the 1970s. The legal firm which she started soon afterwards is now incorporated into one of the largest solicitors' practices in England.

Marion lives in the beautiful Sussex countryside with an understanding husband, a lazy saluki and a large rambling garden, all of which she attempts to keep in some semblance of order. 

So without any further ado, here is Marion Eaton talking about her life as an author...

“It’s for you!”

My husband handed me a heavy parcel wrapped in brown paper. He was grinning from ear to ear like a schoolboy — despite the fact that he was knocking sixty years of age. I grabbed the parcel and ripped it open. I already knew what was inside, but nothing had prepared me for the first actual sight of them. Nestled inside the box were five printed copies of the book I’d laboured over for so many late nights and early mornings. Written, edited, re-written, re-read — I’d thought I’d never see my opus in print. With a little hesitation, I picked up the first precious paperback, and felt the prick of tears as I smiled back at Richard. My dream had come true at last!

I’d wanted to write from the time I was a little girl in the early nineteen-fifties. Then I made tiny little books for my dolls. I illustrated them with tiny stick-people drawings and sewed them together with bright red embroidery silk. I was always scribbling as a youngster, stories and poems, but mostly stories. I squirrelled them away and forgot about them. 

Life happened. Two careers — one as a lawyer, the other as an aromatherapist — a husband, two children, three dogs, and many years later, I retired. I enjoyed it for the first few weeks, but boredom soon set in. Then one rainy Sunday morning I sat up in bed and declared:

“I’d like to write a book.”

“Why don’t you?” my husband asked, handing me the morning papers and a scrumptious cup of coffee.

“Yes, why not?” I agreed, jumping out of bed and rushing into the study to my computer — with the coffee, but not the newspapers. 

Actually, as I was writing — a memoir about the early days of my ‘soliciting’ life — I started to remember several strange and supernatural things. Things that really did happen. As a result, the memoir gradually morphed into a legal mystery thriller peopled with ghosts. 

That Sunday morning was a little over five years ago and I haven’t looked back since. I am now writing my twelfth book. I’ve worked out a routine that works for me, and Life is full of the joy of creation.

Each morning as I wake up, I smile. That puts paid to any lingering uneasiness from dreams or thoughts. I stretch three times and leap out of bed … well, ‘creak’ might be a little more apt.

Then it’s into the kitchen to prepare some lemon water for me, coffee for my husband. While waiting for the kettle to boil, I circle all my joints in turn, starting with the shoulders. I call it oiling them because it feels so good. I also fill my mouth with coconut oil to ‘pull’ out all the toxicity that’s built up overnight. You’re supposed to swill the oil round your mouth — actively— for at least 20 minutes. Without fail, my husband will appear and ask me a question. Obviously I can’t speak, so the dumb show that accompanies my answer is usually funny and occasionally guessable.  Husband goes into bathroom, chuckling.

I spit out the oil and repair to ‘my’ room where I do Osho’s Kundalini meditation. It consists of shaking the whole body for 15 minutes, dancing for 15 minutes… and that’s where I usually give up and take the dog, a Saluki named Poppy, for an hour’s walk.
A quick bite of breakfast (usually muesli, greek yoghourt and fruit, or a boiled egg), and I take a cup of coffee to my computer. My husband and I enjoy the (generally silent) companionship of sharing a study. It has French doors that open out into our secluded garden, and immediately outside them I planted a lavender labyrinth. Whenever I need a break — or some inspiration — I simply walk its paths and come back in refreshed. In the summer, I take my laptop out onto the swing-seat in the garden or work under the sunshade on our deck.

I write for at least an hour before I allow myself to look at email and possibly Facebook. Half an hour, max, then back to whatever I’m writing that day. I simply couldn’t do without Scrivener. It’s a wonderful tools particularly as I write a lot of different things — novels, non-fiction, articles and manuals — that all need to be set out and compiled in different ways. It took a little while to learn, but the results have been well worth the time invested. 

Time for a coffee break. I might do a little light dusting perhaps, peg out the washing or do some ironing before writing for another hour and a half. Now it’s close to lunchtime, so I prepare something light and take it into the garden or the sitting room — the sitting room is always full of sunshine, provided there’s some about. If my husband is free we’ll have lunch together, which usually leads to some interesting conversation, particularly when he’s helping me with research for my books.

In the afternoon, in between writing, I try a little book marketing. I have a marketing plan, at last, and I try to stick to it. For years my attempts were hit and miss, but I’m slowly getting the hang of it, and little and often seems the best way to go. 
I used to be anxious about building an email list, but now I’m really enjoying sharing news and discovering new (to me) readers who like my books. While I love people to offer to read my books, I’m still sometimes apprehensive of their opinions. But I’ve learned to appreciate their helpfulness, especially in pointing out mistakes and errors. And it’s lovely when they’re prepared to give an honest review when the book is finally launched. I’ve made some very good friends that way.

In fact, I have teamed up with two other writers of mysteries (we call ourselves the Mystical Mystery Sisters) and we’re planning to do some joint marketing. This promises to be both exciting and fun. I’m looking forward to it.

At about 5 pm Poppy reminds me it’s time for her afternoon walk. She is allowed two treats when we return and she doesn’t settle until she’s had them. Supper is quickly made. Again nothing too heavy nowadays … spaghetti maybe, a fancy omelette or a curry. At the weekend I do the traditional roast with all the trimmings and my husband will no doubt wheedle a trifle, or a baked sponge pudding with custard. Naughty but nice, like him!

After supper we may watch television, read, or if, as usual, I’m in the middle of writing a book, I rush back to my characters. I dread what they might do if I’m not there to make sure they tread the right path. I work until midnight, but I do take breaks — to phone friends or my daughters, shower, do a little yoga, drumming or chanting. (Yes, as you’ve guessed, I’m an ageing hippy!)

Whenever I can bear to leave my writing, I have coffee or lunch with my daughters or friends — we are blessed with several local pubs that serve delicious lunches — or take long country walks, or scrabble in the garden for hours on end. Occasionally we will lunch on fish and chips as we walk by the sea. I’m lucky to live near Hastings and there’s wonderful countryside and seaside nearby.

Some weekends I’m so busy teaching Reiki, or other workshops with a complementary health theme, that I can’t sit down to write until about 7 pm. On those days I will write flat out until 1.00 am and often later. (Writing is very addictive!)  

I am fortunate. I enjoy good health despite my advanced years, which I put down to the pleasure of writing, drinking lots of water (and a regular glass of wine), eating organic food, taking gentle exercise, meditating — and being happy. Reiki is the ‘secret art of inviting happiness’ and it is my spiritual path. 


I am very blessed. I love my life — but nothing is as exciting as unwrapping the first paperback copy of my latest book.

Thank you so much, Marion, for appearing on my blog! Make sure you guys check back next Monday for another Day In The Life of an Author feature <3

Check out Marion Eaton here: www.marioneaton.com

www.facebook.com/marioneatonwriter