Pages

Wednesday, 12 June 2019

London's BIG READ 2019 | 'Only Love Can Break Your Heart' by Katherine Webber

Hey guys, and happy Wednesday! Today I am stoked to be talking to you about a really exciting event coming up - London's BIG READ - a brilliant initiative that is designed to bring the capital together through reading books that expand our understanding of our community and express the diversity of this great city (I may live in Oxford now, but London will always be the place I call home!) 

A range of titles including poetry, middle grade and YA, have been selected to be part of London’s BIG READ 2019, the winter will be announced at a gala fundraising dinner in September.  The shortlisted books are all available to buy from the LIBRARY members club, with £1 from each sale going to the Children’s Literacy Charity and a further £1 going to the Ndoro Children’s Charity. 

Londoners will be able to vote for their favourite book online at http://www.londonsbigread.com from World Book Day through to 30 June. 

 You can check out all of the brilliant shortlisted books on their website, but for now I'm going to be reviewing one of the fantastic YA books on the shortlist - Katherine Webber's Only Love Can Break Your Heart


I was kindly sent a copy of this book by Literally PR, in exchange for an honest review and sharing with you all this great initiative! <3

Check out the blurb below...


From the author of the acclaimed Wing Jones comes a 'break-up' book about a Japanese-American teenager, set in the Palm Springs desert, California. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything and Sara Barnard's Beautiful Broken Things.

Sometimes a broken heart is all you need to set you free…


Reiko loves the endless sky and electric colours of the Californian desert. It is a refuge from an increasingly claustrophobic life of family pressures and her own secrets. Then she meets Seth, a boy who shares a love of the desert and her yearning for a different kind of life. But Reiko and Seth both want something the other can’t give them. As summer ends, things begin to fall apart. But the end of love can sometimes be the beginning of you.. 

Only Love Can Break Your Heart is a beautifully written, intensely heartbreaking novel about falling in love, family and heartbreak, set against a backdrop of the mysterious and haunting Californian desert. It follows Reiko, who is struggling to put back the pieces after her sister's death, alongside trying to figure out who she really wants to be. She knows that everyone at school and her family expect her to be Homecoming Queen - she is Reiko Smith-Mori after all - but no crown can fix what happened to her sister, who was supposed to be the one who had it all...

I loved the main character Reiko; she was authentically teenage and made lots of mistakes, but also a lot of good choices. I particularly enjoyed her relationship with her parents and her little brother, Koji, and her best friend Dre. I loved the dynamics between these characters so much that I think we could have actually gone without Seth, who was the other principle character in the book, but then again their relationship did a lot in terms of shaping the plot and who Reiko turned out to be. 

Webber's writing is flawless; I loved her style with Wing Jones and it got even better than this. Her writing smelt like long, hot summers and cold starry nights. I thought the desert backdrop really added to the magic of the story, and drew me into the book even further.

I guess it's no suprise to you guys that I will definitely be voting for Only Love Can Break Your Heart for London's BIG READ - but what book will you be voting for?! Let me know in the comments below or over on my Twitter!

Don't forget to check out London's BIG READ here: http://www.londonsbigread.com

Until next time :)

6 comments:

  1. Hi, very good article thanks for sharing keep up the good work!

    Hello
    Such a great and informative article.
    Thanks for sharing
    Hi very good article thanks for sharing keep up the good work! 


    Hi,Very interesting post.this is my first time visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion..thanks for the post!

    Nice post. You covered a lot of points in your post . Thanks For sharing this with us.


    I have read your article, it is very informative and helpful for me.I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. Thanks for posting it.


    flipkart Credit card offers,flipkart offers,flipkart offer
    flipkart emi,flipkart debit card emi,flipkart emi on debit card,,flipkart with emi,flipkart emi debit card sbi,flipkart emi sbi debit card,
    flipkart sbi,flipkart sbi debit card emi,flipkart sbi offer,flipkart offer with sbi card,flipkart sbi card offer,flipkart sbi credit card offers,flipkart sbi debit card offer,
    flipkart,flipkart offer,flipkart sale,flipkart seller,flipkart mobile,,flipkart big billion day,flipkart saree,flipkart mobile offer,flipkart offers mobile,flipkart shoes,flipkart india,flipkart login,flipkart offer today,flipkart today offer,flipkart download,flipkart app download,flipkart download app,flipkart affiliate,flipkart debit card emi,flipkart online,flipkart fashion,
    flipkart debit,flipkart debit card emi,flipkart emi for debit card,flipkart sbi debit card emi,flipkart debit emi,flipkart icici debit card emi,flipkart debit card offers,flipkart offer debit cardflipkart cashsback offers


    flipkart hdfc,flipkart hdfc offer,flipkart hdfc credit card offer,flipkart hdfc bank offer,flipkart icici debit card emi,flipkart icici credit card offer,flipkart icici credit card offers,flipkart offer for icici credit card,flipkart icici offer,flipkart icici debit card offer,flipkart debit,flipkart debit card emi,flipkart emi for debit card,flipkart sbi debit card emi,flipkart debit emi,flipkart icici debit card emi,flipkart debit card offers,flipkart offer debit cardflipkart debit card emi eligibility smsflipkart debit card emi icici,flipkart sbi debit card offer,flipkart hdfc debit card emi,flipkart credit,flipkart credit card offers,flipkart offer credit card,flipkart offer for credit card,flipkart offers with credit cards,flipkart hdfc credit card offer,flipkart credit card,flipkart cardless credit register,flipkart cardless credit registration,
    flipkart offer,flipkart sale,flipkart seller,flipkart mobile,flipkart app,flipkart big billion day,flipkart saree,flipkart mobile offer,flipkart offers mobile,flipkart shoes,flipkart india,flipkart login,flipkart offer today,flipkart today offer,flipkart download,flipkart app download,flipkart download app,flipkart debit card emi,flipkart online,flipkart fashion,flipkart kurtis,flipkart watches,flipkart flipkart,flipkart lite,flipkart tracking order,flipkart customer care no,flipkart ladies watch,flipkart grocery,flipkart ceo,flipkart laptop,

    ReplyDelete

  2. Flipkart SBI Offer 2019: 10% Instant Cashback.
    Flipkart HDFC Offer 2019: 10% Instant Offer.
    Flipkart Cashback offer 2019: 10% Cashback.
    Flipkart SBI Offer 2019: 10% Instant Cashback.
    Flipkart HDFC Offer 2019: 10% Instant Offer.
    Flipkart Cashback offer 2019: 10% Cashback.
    SBI Credit Card /Debit Card Offers 10% Instant Cashback
    Get Cashbackhttps://www.flipkart.com/?affid=crishkuma1
    HDFC Credit Ca rd /Debit Card Offers 10% Instant Cashback
    Get Cashbackhttps://www.flipkart.com/?affid=crishkuma1
    Citi Bank Credit Card /Debit Card Offers 10% Instant Cashback
    Get Cashbackhttps://www.flipkart.com/?affid=crishkuma1
    Axis Bank Credit Card /Debit Card Offers 10% Instant Cashback (Extra 5% on Axis Buzz Cards)
    Get Cashback
    https://www.flipkart.com/?affid=crishkuma1
    ICICI Bank Credit Card /Debit Card Offers 10% Instant Cashback
    Get Cashback
    https://www.flipkart.com/?affid=crishkuma1
    YES Bank Credit Card /Debit Card Offers 10% Instant Cashback
    Get Cashback
    https://www.flipkart.com/?affid=crishkuma1
    IDBI Bank Credit Card /Debit Card Offers 10% Instant Cashback
    Get Cashback
    https://www.flipkart.com/?affid=crishkuma1
    Kotak Bank Credit Card /Debit Card Offers 10% Instant Cashback
    Get Cashback
    https://www.flipkart.com/?affid=crishkuma1
    flipkart sbi debit card offers,flipkart offers


    flipkart offers


    flipkart axis offers
    flipkart sbi offer
    flipkart sbi debit card emi
    flipkart sbi credit card offer
    flipkart sbi debit card emi
    flipkart sbi credit card offers
    flipkart hdfc,
    flipkart hdfc offer,
    flipkart hdfc credit card offer,
    flipkart icici debit card emi
    flipkart icici credit card offer
    flipkart icici offer
    flipkart axis,
    flipkart axis bank offer

    ReplyDelete
  3. Trace Flipkart Deal of the Day offers for May 2019. Today's best deals on everything & promo codes for online shopping at Flipkart.Find Flipkart shopping deals, offers & discounts at India Free Stuff. Get up to 90% discounts on Flipkart shopping with these amazing offers & deals.Get your Favourite Deals At Tracedeals
    Flipkart Offers
    Filpkart Upcoming Sale
    Filpkart coupons
    Filpkart deals

    ReplyDelete
  4. This is a great website with a lot of information about science, technology, life,... Besides, it also helps me a lot in making my website. Thank you very much.

    Friday Night Funkin download

    FNF Play Online download

    ReplyDelete